FC United of Manchester Smaller Text Larger Text

Match Details    

3.00pm Saturday 1st November 2014

Galaxy Lancashire League

Arbories Memorial Ground, Well Street, Padiham, Burnley, Lancs, BB12 8LE

Padiham 0 - 1 FC United of Manchester

Attendance: N/K

Match Report

FC United Reserves got back to winning ways with a 1-0 win at Padiham, Chris Hill scoring in the first half. Playing down the slope, FC started brightly but it was Padiham who had the first effort on target from a free kick.

The next effort on target didn’t arrive until the fifteenth minute but was the decisive one. A free kick from wide on the right saw one effort saved but the rebound was fired home by Hill. There were few chances in the remainder of the first half, although Padiham came close just before the break.

The second half had more goalmouth action with three good chances in the first five minutes. First when Padiham must still be wondering how they didn’t score as there were two or three goal line blocks before Philip Pole got hold of the ball. Then Sam Summerbee for FC tested Sean Davis before Martin Trickett got round the back of the FC defence and shot over

FC United had most of the possession and had some threat, a Summerbee shot was parried and Ryan Saxon, supplied by Frank van Gils headed just over from the rebound. Summerbee looked bright throughout the game and had the ball in the net on 80 minutes but was ruled offside.

Padiham though, made knowledge of the pitch count, playing down the slope in the second half with some useful attacks but without serious threat until injury time when a Bradley Cookson free kick was turned over for a corner by Pole.

By that time Padiham were down to 10 men when Trickett, who had been their best player was sent off. Retrieving the ball for a Padiham free kick, Josh Smethurst ran past him and for some reason he threw the ball into Josh’s face.

Next up for the reds is Hyde at Abbey Hey on Saturday 8th November kick off 2pm.

1. Sean Davis
2. Stuart Craig
3. Joseph Clarke
4. Bradley Cookson
5. Daniel Turner
6. Andrew Hargreaves
7. Corey Cook
8. Thomas Anderson
9. Benjamin Bridson
10. Samuel Langford
11. Martin Trickett

12. William Irvine
14. Alistair Law
15. Gareth Hill
16. Abidul Kabir
17. Ross Dawson

FC United of Manchester:
1. Philip Pole
2. Leo Magnone
3. Charlie Doyle
4. Ryan Saxon
5. Daniel Cooke
6. Chris Hill
7. Frank van Gils
8. Michael Brewster
9. Sam Sumerbee
10. John Pritchard
11.Jason Fowles

12. Nick Truelove
14. Josh Smethurst (for 2, 52 mins)
18. Rhodri Giggs
Previous Match Next Match

Football Club United of Manchester,

Hope Mill, 113 Pollard Street, Ancoats, Manchester M4 7JA

FC United Office Email -

FC United Office Fax - 0161 273 7598

FC United Office Phone - 0161 273 8950

Free Text Message Service - 07786 200 353

The Living Wage Foundation
127 Club Members
Academic Papers
Advanced News Search
Away Grounds
Away Tickets & Travel
Club Manefesto
Code of Conduct
Complaints Procedure
Contact FC United
Co-owners' Area
Development Fund
Disabled Access
Doing Things Differently
Election Policy
Equal Opportunities
Ex-FC Utd Players
FC United & Live TV
FC United Blog
FC United Shop
FCUth Website
FCUM Radio
First Visit
Fixtures / Results
Friendly Criteria
Home Tickets
Info for Visiting Fans
IPS Rules
League Table
Man of the Match
Match Day Photos
Members' Forum
News Archive
News Search
Old Boys
Punk Football
Press Releases
Season Tickets
Stats / Records
Supporters' Groups
The Pink
Text Service
Web Archive
Who Are We?
You Tube
Copyright (c) 2005-2014 FC United of Manchester (except fixtures, tables and images used by kind permission of their respective rights holders). All rights reserved.